Quick Links

Middlemarch Junior School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search


RE - Knowledge And Skills Through RE

What religions are to be taught? 

The agreed syllabus requires that all pupils learn from Christianity in each key stage. 

In addition, pupils will learn from the principal religions represented in the UK - Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism, Buddhism and Judaism. Religious traditions to be studied in depth through key-stage 2 are those of Christians, Muslims, Hindus and Jewish people.

Furthermore, children from families where non-religious worldviews are held are represented in almost all of our classrooms. These worldviews, including for example Humanism, will also be the focus for study. 


Depth is more important than overstretched breadth.       
Schools are encouraged to teach less but teach it better.